Insanity: Working Out To Keep Me Sane

I’m insane. Well, I think I am. The sun is shining brightly outside, not a single cloud in the sky. When I look out of window I can see at least three people tanning in their garden, and really, that’s what I should be doing right now. Just enjoying the sun with a cocktail on the side, reading a good book and working on my tan. But I’m inside, in my room. Shutters closed, laptop on. I decided to get back into the Insanity workout routine. For those of you who don’t know what Insanity is, I can be short: the name says it all. It’s a 40-minute workout that you can do in your own home, and you don’t need any equipment to get started. No dumbbells, no skipping ropes, nothing. Just your body, and a whole lot of water. It’s insane. And I’m insane for doing it. I laugh about it, turn on the DVD and get started. I’m prepared to get my butt kicked once again – all for the results.

I’ll admit – I like fast and easy. The thought of doing Insanity every single day for two months got me really discouraged last time I tried it, especially since I didn’t lose any weight. My body surely looked better, even after just three workouts, but I was too focused on my weight. And then… then I got tempted by this crash diet. I mean, losing up to 4 kg a week! You must be crazy not to try it, right? This was only a week ago. I bought the shakes, bought the bars, followed the rules. The first day was agony. The second day too. And the third day, I was back to my normal eating pattern. I had to learn this lesson the hard way: there is no such thing as fast and easy. Even drinking three shakes a day wasn’t easy, because I had absolutely no energy to do anything at all. On top of that, I became depressed (later I heard that more women experienced depressive symptoms who tried those shakes). Sure, the (water)weight was melting off my body, but I decided to stop this craziness. Did I mention how many bad additives all those shakes and bars contain? Sure, this kind of diet might work for some people, but not for me. Screw fast and easy. I want to lose weight the right way, and moderation is key. The only kind of insanity I allow in my new lifestyle is exercise. A little bit more now that I’m trying to lose weight, and just a few times a week when I’m on my goal weight.

As soon as I finish my workout, I take some water, wash my face and enjoy three Brazil nuts. It’s my favorite post-workout food. I feel good about myself. Proud, happy and tired. But I did it. And I will do it over and over again until I got the body I always wanted. People may say that this is the hard, slow way to lose weight, but honestly, it’s the only way for me. Even if it means sacrificing another beautiful, sunny day in July!

Best wishes,

Anne

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Insanity: Working Out To Keep Me Sane

  1. I have learn a few just right stuff here. Definitely
    worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much attempt you
    set to create any such great informative site.

Finished reading? Why not tell me what you think? :)

